Reed Environmental Writing Award: Judges

SELC is grateful to the writers, journalists and environmental advocates who generously volunteer their time and talent to serve as judges for the Reed Environmental Writing Award. Judges for the 2019 contest were:  

Carol Angle  Pediatrician, nephrologist, and toxicologist; one of the nation’s leading researchers on lead poisoning; co-founded one of the country’s first poison control centers; served as an expert for the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences, National Institutes of Health, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

Bruz Clark  President and treasurer of the Chattanooga-based Lyndhurst Foundation and director of its Conservation and Physical Health and Education programs; executive director and secretary of the Riverview Foundation and former trustee and secretary of the Pathfinder Foundation; member of the Consultative Group on Biological Diversity, Land Trust Alliance, Southeastern Council of Foundations, and Timber Framers Guild; and former recipient of the SELC Dockery Award and Land Trust for the Little Tennessee Conservationist of the Year award

Jim Detjen  The Knight Chair, Emeritus, and founding president of the Knight Center for Environmental Journalism, Michigan State University; founding president of Society of Environmental Journalists; former award-winning reporter for the Philadelphia Inquirer

Scott Gast  Associate Editor, Orion magazine and a member of Orion's editorial staff since 2010. Has edited stories reprinted in Slate, The Sun, Utne Reader, Fast Company, The Best American Science and Nature Writing anthology, and elsewhere, and his work has been supported by the Pulitzer Center for Crisis Reporting and the Fund for Environmental Journalism. Previously on the staff of The Nature Conservancy, the City of Chicago’s Department of Environment, and Yes! Magazine

David Haskell  Professor of Biology and Environmental Studies at the University of the South, Sewanee; author of The Forest Unseen, finalist for the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction and winner of SELC’s 2013 Reed Environmental Writing Award, the National Academies’ 2013 Best Book Award, and the 2012 National Outdoor Book Award for Natural History Literature; author of the blog Ramble.  

Jay Leutze   Author of Stand Up That Mountain, winner of the 2012 Reed Environmental Writing Award; trustee for the Southern Appalachian Highlands Conservancy; 2013 recipient of the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, the highest honor the governor can bestow on a North Carolina citizen

Bill McKibben  Author of such books as Deep Economy, The End of Nature, and Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New Planet; frequent contributor to The New Yorker, Orion, The Atlantic Monthly, Harper’s, The New York Review of Books, and other publications; co-founder of, an international climate campaign; scholar-in-residence at Middlebury College  

Rick Montague  Civic leader, teacher, and writer; guiding inspiration behind creation of the Reed Environmental Writing Award; past chair and current member of SELC’s Board of Trustees

Stephen Nash   A past Reed Award winner, a visiting Senior Research Scholar at the University of Richmond, and author of Virginia Climate Fever—How Global Warming Will Transform Our Cities, Shorelines, and Forests, which won the American Institute of Physics 2015 Science Writing Award for Books.

Janisse Ray  Poet, activist, teacher and award-winning author of Ecology of a Cracker Childhood and four other books of literary non-fiction, including the 2012 The Seed Underground: A Growing Revolution to Save Food and a book of poems, A House of Branches; founding board member of Altamaha Riverkeeper; winner of the 2000 Reed Environmental Writing Award

Charles Seabrook  Veteran environmental reporter formerly with the Atlanta Journal-Constitution; author of Cumberland Island: Strong Women, Wild Horses from John F. Blair Publishers and The World of the Salt Marsh, from the University of Georgia Press; winner of the 1998 Reed Environmental Writing Award 

Paul Sloan    Board Chair of the Cumberland River Compact; former Deputy Commissioner Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation; founder of Partners in Conservation; co-founder Little Planet Publishing; founding board member Cumberland Region Tomorrow